Forgive…but don’t forget

ImageIt is one thing to forgive someone who has hurt you badly in the past…it is another thing not to forget the lessons learnt from the incident so as not to fall victim again in the future. When I say ‘don’t forget’, I do not mean that you should keep putting the person that hurt you in the prison of your heart. I mean, you should glean and keep to your heart the lessons from the experience so that you will not repeat your mistakes and also be in a position to help other hurting people survive their hurts.

I decided to forgive my ex and that is why I no longer hurt when I remember the emotional trauma I went through in that relationship. Until you remember someone who had hurt you in the past and smile rather than curse, you are yet to forgive the person totally. It’s either you are still hurting or partially healed.

I did not forget the lessons I learnt from my ex and that is why I can easily reach out to a heartbroken fellow because I had been through what they are passing through. I needed to go through my own experience to be fully equipped to help someone who passes through a similar situation.

When my ex came to ask for another chance with me after messing up the various chances he had in the past, I quickly remembered the lessons I had learnt and told him there could be no other chance as he had used up all the chances. I discovered that patching up and continuing in that relationship was going to turn me into an emotional wreck because he has a ministry of breaking precious hearts like mine. The lessons I learnt coupled with the understanding I had from reading the Purpose Driven Life by bestselling author, Rick Warren; made me discover that there is a difference between forgiving someone who had broken your heart several times and then allowing them back again. It is the right thing to forgive but if s/he does not have a good track record of managing relationship, there is no point continuing in that relationship.

Healing from a hurt starts with forgiving the person that hurt you whether s/he deserves it or not. When you forgive, you are not doing that person a favor; rather you are lifting a heavy burden and baggage off your heart. The Lord’s prayer…..”Forgive us our trespass as we forgive those who trespass against us….” So your sins are not to be forgiven by God if you refuse to forgive who ever might have hurt you.

Oh, you say I don’t know your hurt, you have once been raped and I am asking you to forgive the rapist…oh you have once been robbed or cheated on and I am asking you to forgive your offender. Seriously, you need to forgive to make closed doors against your destiny open. That’s God’s candid advice and every commandment of God has blessings attached to it so you’ve got no choice my dear than to forgive.

Don’t forget the lessons learnt from the incident….if you were raped maybe because you dressed almost nude in the public, you must have learnt that decent dressing don’t attract rapists. If you have been jilted one time or the other, you must have known the signs to watch out from a playboy or a “Delilah”. God is Supernatural…he is the one that forgives and forgets our sins…we are humans (natural)…we should forgive those who hurt us but should not forget the lessons learnt from the experience in other to avoid being a bigger prey in the future and to be fully equipped to help likely victims around us. Your future is great. I value you. I look forward to answering your questions via BB PIN: 29E55A9A

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

